My First Rabbit

20 Sep

rabbit_edited

craptastic picture take while cooking, no finished picture, just imagine the rabbit being browner

While browsing my local Asian Mega Mart I came across frozen rabbits. They were a good price something like $2.99/lb. They are about $20 at the local Yuppie Mart. I decided to buy the cheap bunny to test the waters.

Then came the trying to figure out what to do with the thing. I’ve never eaten it before. So I have no idea how it should taste.

After spending a day looking up recipes on the internet with no luck. Seriously, the internet failed me. Maybe I didn’t to look hard enough. I did find an interesting sounding one that hailed form Spain. It used chocolate. But the Old Guy said no.

I had to turn to books. After flipping through some Julia Child, Galloping Gourmet and some Time Life (yes Time Life, they belong to the Old Guy) I found what I was looking for.

In Bistro Cooking by Patricia Wells there are two rabbit recipes. The first, rabbit with mustard sauce, and one for rabbit with green olives. I decided to combine the two. I find it impossible to use a recipe.

It worked! The rabbit was tasty, it was easy to make, it was fairly inexpensive. Everything I could hope for.

Here’s what I did:

cut rabbit into pieces

salt and pepper rabbit

brown rabbit in a Dutch oven, set aside once browned

in the same pan sauté an onion and some garlic in the rabbit fat

put rabbit back in the pan

now I added some white wine with about 2 Tbl some Dijon mustard mixed in

then a bay leaf, tarragon, thyme and some green olives go in

cook covered for about 30 minutes, then uncovered for 15 minutes

Leave a Reply

